Putting it on the Plate with PICKKA – A Light and Fresh Dessert For Memorial Day

Cream-filled Dessert Cakes with Fresh Fruit.

Memorial Day is fast approaching.  As is the case with many families on this day of remembrance, my family and I like to celebrate with a special meal that includes an after-dinner dessert.  I usually bake these special occasion desserts from scratch.  But, this year, I will be leaving for a trip shortly after our celebration; therefore, I need to make something that doesn’t require a lot of time.

I want to make a dessert that will be fresh and light.  My choice is to make Cream-filled Dessert Cakes with Fresh Fruit. I know I can buy pre-made ingredients (e.g., mini dessert cake shells) for this dessert to help me save time in preparation.  Because I want this dessert to be lower in fat, I have chosen to use my Evincii/PICKKA’s Eat This? app for the iPhone to help me find ingredients that meet my health goals.

Store bought mini dessert cake shells decrease preparation time.

Thanks to my “Eat This?” app, I was able to find pudding mix that fell within the “Alright Choice” range and the remaining ingredients in the “Very Good Choice” category.  Here is how to make a low-fat version of Cream-filled Dessert Cakes with Fresh Fruit:

Recipe:

3.4 ounce package of fat-free instant vanilla pudding

3/4 cup low-fat sour cream

2 cups fat-free whipped topping, thawed

12 pre-made mini dessert cake shells

flaxseed meal* (enough to garnish tops of cakes)

pre-made strawberry glaze (found in baking aisle next to canned fruit pie fillings)

fresh blueberries (or your favorite type of berries)

Preparation:

In a medium-sized bowl, combine sour cream and instant pudding mix (see picture).

Once combined, the sour cream/pudding mixture should resemble this.

Next, blend in two cups of thawed whipped topping at medium speed until smooth.

Blend whipped topping into sour cream/pudding mixture until smooth.

Fill cake shells with cream mixture.  Sprinkle flaxseed meal to garnish.  Top each cream-filled cake with 3 blueberries.  Next, pipe strawberry glaze over dessert to decorate (Tip: Fill plastic sandwich bag with glaze.  Seal top and cut tip off of one of the bag’s bottom corners.  Gently squeeze glaze onto dessert).  Makes 12 mini Cream-filled Dessert Cakes with Fresh Fruit.  Keep chilled until ready to serve.

*flaxseed meal can be replaced by wheat germ or chopped nuts.

Share

2 Comments

Filed under health, healthy food, low-fat, picnic recipes

2 responses to “Putting it on the Plate with PICKKA – A Light and Fresh Dessert For Memorial Day

  1. Pingback: Putting it on the Plate with PICKKA – A Light and Fresh Dessert … | Dessert Recipes

  2. Greetings, I enjoy your website. This is a great site and I wanted to post a note to let you know, great job! Thanks Amy

    Louis Vuitton

    vuitton

Leave a Reply

