Have you ever wondered what is the difference between a vegan and a vegetarian? Or, what are the meanings of terms such as flexitarian and fruitarian? Today on Simply Sunday those questions are answered.
Vegan: An individual who avoids eating, using, and wearing all animal-derived products. A vegan eliminates meat, poultry, fish/seafood, and dairy and eggs from his or her diet. Some vegans eliminate honey from their diets as well. Products such as leather, fur, wool, down, and cosmetics that have been tested on animals are not used by a vegan. The premise of veganism is to follow a “cruelty-free lifestyle.”
Vegetarian: An individual who chooses, for various reasons, not to eat meat, poultry, and fish/seafood. Some vegetarians also avoid egg and dairy products. Unlike a vegan, a vegetarian may choose to use nonfood animal-derived products (e.g., leather, wool, etc.,). There can be different types of vegetarians. For instance, an ovo-lacto vegetarian will eat egg and milk products, but not meat, poultry, and fish/seafood. A lacto vegetarian will consume milk, but not eggs, meat, poultry, and fish/seafood.
Flexitarian: An individual who eats a primarily plant-based diet but will occasionally consume meat, poultry, and fish/seafood.
Fruitarian: An individual who only eats what can be harvested from a plant without killing it, such as fruit, nuts, and seeds. A peach is an example of what a fruitarian will eat, but not a carrot because the plant has to die in order for it to be consumed.
What are your dietary preferences? Do you try to avoid certain foods? Share with us, we want to know!
Sources of Information