Putting it on the Plate with PICKKA: Oven-Baked Oatmeal-Blueberry Pancakes

Oven-baking pancakes can cut down on the fat.

Traditionally prepared and cooked pancakes can mean consuming a lot of extra calories from fat and carbs.  But, there are a few tricks that can make this comfort food healthier.  To cut down on the fat, try oven-baking the pancakes.  You can reduce the sugar content by lightly dusting the cooked pancakes with powdered sugar, rather than dousing them with maple syrup.  The fiber content can be increased by using pancake mix made of whole-grain flour.  And, use your “Eat What?” app for the iPhone to find a pancake mix that fits into your diet plan.

The “Eat What?” app provides you with a list of recommended products in the food category that you are interested.  A great feature of this app is that it allows you to modify the search criteria for the saturated fat, sugar, carbohydrate, and fiber content of the product (e.g., choose from “no saturated fat,” “low saturated fat,” “reduced saturated fat,” or “ignore” categories).  By modifying my search, I reduced the number of options from which I had to choose and increased my chances of getting the right product for me.

I chose an oatmeal pancake mix to make oven-baked oatmeal-blueberry pancakes for my family.  Here is what I did to make them.  First, I preheated the oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit.  Then, I sprayed a cookie sheet with non-stick cooking spray and set it aside. Next, I followed the pancake package directions for the number of pancakes I wanted to make (14-18 pancakes).  I added 1 tsp of baking powder to the batter and combined it.  Then, I folded in fresh blueberries (about 1/4 cup per 1 cup of dry mix).  Using 1/4 cup of batter per pancake, I poured the mixture onto the baking sheet – separating pancakes by about 3 inches.**   Then, I baked them for approximately 8 minutes.  The pancakes will resemble large cookies when done.

Oven-baked pancakes will resemble large cookies when done.

**Note, my family likes pancakes from thick batter which holds its form on a cold baking sheet.  If you like thin batter, preheat the baking sheet prior to pouring the mixture onto it to prevent it from spreading out too much prior to cooking.

What is your favorite way to make pancakes?  Share with us, we want to know!

Share

Leave a comment

Filed under baked goods, breakfast, Eat What?, healthy food, homemade meals, iPhone apps, PICKKA, Recipes, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

